Coffee Book Tag

I found this tag on the youtube channel Katytastic, and I’m going to put a link to her video at the end of this post.  (I changed one of the questions because I didn’t know how to answer it, but I think it’s similar enough to the old question that it doesn’t really change that much.)

 

  1. Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.  The first third of the first book is mostly character development and exposition, and it’s really easy to get stuck in that section of the book, but the people who get past the first book tend to be obsessive hardcore fans.  I definitely am.

  1. Peppermint mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

I’m going to go with a book I tend to read around the festive time of the year because I can’t think of one that gets more popular in general.  Anyway, the book I tend to read around the holidays is Hyperbole and a Half.  I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read it, but it’s just as good every time.  It also provides a great escape from having to deal with relatives for two months.

 

  1. Hot chocolate: What is your favorite children’s book?

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke.  I never got through the whole series when I was younger, but whenever I have time, I need to finish the series.  

 

  1. Double shot of espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

 

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert.  I haven’t finished it yet, but I’ve read most of it, so it counts.  I did not expect that plot twist. I wasn’t ready. I almost cried.

 

  1. Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Mass.  I’ve been hesitant to read it because, from what I’ve seen, it’s either a book you love, or a book you hate, and I worry that I would offend someone by loving or hating it.  It’s weird that THIS is the book that I’m hesitant to read because I’m worried that I’ll offend someone. I’ve had no problem negatively reviewing popular books before, and this series actually has large groups of people who hate it, so you’d think that I would feel more comfortable with the possibility that I could express unpopular opinions, but no.  

 

  1. That hipster coffee shop: Give a shout out to a book that isn’t that popular.  

Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre.  This book is an urban fantasy with romance, and there are a lot of very popular young adult urban fantasy novels with romance subplots, so I feel like this should be more popular.  

 

  1. Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby.  I went into this expecting a richly detailed urban fantasy, and, instead, I got something that felt more like an unemotional, dark contemporary novel.  

 

  1. The perfect blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying.

 

Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.  I cried more during those two books than I did for everything I read for the entirety of last year.  I haven’t read Obsidio yet, so I can’t say if the ending of the series is ultimately satisfying, but I’m sure it will be.  And I’m sure that even my waterproof eyeliner will be no match for the crying I’ll do while reading it.  

 

Video with the tag:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uf7jJWnDq_Q

Leave a comment