“Popular” – Nada Surf

I thought that the title of one of Marshall’s chapters was a reference to the title of the album this song is from.  Also, after the Radiohead reference in Paper Valentine, I wouldn’t have been surprised to see a Nada Surf reference in one of her books.  I also thinks that this song could work for several characters, depending on how you look at the song and the characters.  

 

“Twin Size Mattress” – The Front Bottoms

It’s mentioned that Marshall has a twin size mattress.  And I think this fits the mood of most of his chapters.  

 

“Parklife” – Blur

I think this fits more with the first half of the book than the second, but maybe it could work for Waverly’s friend group?  

 

“Cute Without the “E” (Cut From the Team)” – Taking Back Sunday

Autumn was emo, and this is a classic emo song.  It would be wrong of me to make a playlist for this book without including some emo music.  

 

“The Artist In The Ambulance” – Thrice

I don’t listen to ninety percent of the emo music I used to listen to; however, this is a song that I still listen to occasionally.  It’s not my favorite song in the world, but this is much more bearable than most of what I used to listen to.  

 

“Dance, Dance” – Fall Out Boy

There was a dance in the book, which Autumn helped with.  And this is another classic emo song.  

 

“Passing Through A Screen Door” – The Wonder Years

Another emo song, but I think it could be relatable for Marshall or Waverly.  

 

“Coffee and TV” – Blur

This song has themes of feeling like you don’t fit in and trying to find your place in the world.  I think all the characters could relate to this in some way.  

 

I considered putting in a song by Mindless Self Indulgence, since they were specifically mentioned in the book, but I only know one of their songs, and it’s entirely the wrong mood for this book.  Also, The Offspring is specifically mentioned in that part, too, but I would rather delete my blog than ever recommend a song by them.  

