This playlist is a little weird.  Some of the songs are ones that I listened to while reading it, some have lyrics that go well with what happens in the book, and one has the word “dancefloor” in the title, and I really like it and wanted to include it.  

There are some smallish (and not so smallish) spoilers in this, but I’ll mark them.  

 

“How to Disappear Completely” – Radiohead

I listened to this while reading this book, and I thought it fit nicely.  

 

“Spell” – Marie Digby

This one kind of reminds me of Violet.  EDIT:  (slight spoilers, I guess) I was indifferent towards Violet throughout most of the book, but after finishing the book, I really, really don’t like her.  I almost considered not putting this song in because I dislike her so much.  Obviously, since you’re reading this, I kept it in, but I still don’t like Violet.  

 

“I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor” – Arctic Monkeys

This is here because Orianna and Violet danced.  And because I really wanted to use an Arctic Monkeys song.  

 

“A Song To Say Goodbye” – Placebo

Violet and Orianna again.  Also because of the lines about innocence lost and stuff, I think it fits well.  

 

“There, There” – Radiohead

This is a really good live version that you should totally drop everything and listen to right now:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IX7j6HY9s_0

Spoilers.  

Zero people are surprised that I put another Radiohead song in here.  I think that every playlist should consist of mostly Radiohead songs, but I do actually have a reason for this one to be here.  There’s a lyric in this song, “Just ‘cause you feel it doesn’t mean it’s there”, and it kind of makes me think of how, for a while, everyone in the detention center thought that they were still living when they had actually been dead for years.  They saw the detention center the way it had been years ago, but it was actually falling apart and covered in graffiti.  So the line makes sense with the story.  Maybe it’s a stretch, but Hail To The Thief is amazing, and it would be wrong of me not to include something from this album.  

 

“You Know What They Do To Guys Like Us In Prison” – My Chemical Romance

I picked this one entirely because of the title.  The lyrics don’t fit that well with the story, but I’m doing it anyway.  This is also from my favorite My Chemical Romance album so… Yeah.  I’m trying to not make it a word thing where the only thing that the song has in common with the book is some vague thing in the title, but I couldn’t find a song off of OK Computer that I felt would really fit, so I’m struggling.  

 

“True Friends” – Bring Me The Horizon

Violet again.  But this time it was picked after I had time to think about how much I didn’t like her.  

 

And the last song for my playlist is…

 

“Okay I Believe You, But My Tommy Gun Don’t” – Brand New

This song doesn’t really have much to do with the book.  I guess if you really picked apart the lyrics you could find some kind of meaning in the song that would go perfectly with some part of the book, but you can make anything mean anything if you pick it apart enough.  The main reason I picked this song is because I feel like it would go really well with the book if you listened to it while reading.  I didn’t actually listen to this while reading the book, but I just feel like it would work.  I think it would be a really good contrast to “How To Disappear Completely”, which is the song I listened to most while reading this book.  “How To Disappear Completely” is a slower, sadder, more acoustic song, while this song starts acoustic but has heavier electric instrumentation later in the song.  This is also a song that you will just never get tired of, so you could probably listen to this the entire time you read the book and still love it at the end.  At least I could.  

