I realized five minutes ago that I was supposed to post this an hour ago, and I haven’t even finished writing half of it.  I was too busy listening to Radiohead bootlegs to write this post in time.  Which honestly isn’t surprising.  Anyway, here’s the playlist.  

 

“The Birds of Azalea Street” by Nova Ren Suma

I spent a lot of time thinking about what I should do for this story.  I didn’t feel any connection to any of the characters, and I don’t think that I could pick a song that reminded me of any character.  So the song I ended up choosing is “Drive It Like You Stole It” by The Glitch Mob.  This song doesn’t have any words, so I didn’t have to think about whether or not the meaning of the song went with the meaning of the story.  Even though this is electronic music that could probably be considered dance music, and electronic dance music doesn’t really go with the feel of the story, this is probably my favorite lyricless electronic song, so I’m putting it in the playlist anyway.  

Alternatively, if you would like something that does have words, I would pick “Isle of Flightless Birds” by Twenty One Pilots.  Because birds.  I don’t have a better reason.  Even though I love this song, the only reason I picked it is because the title has something to do with birds.  Just listen to the other song.  

 

“In the Forest Dark and Deep” by Carrie Ryan

I loved this story so much, and it deserves a song that fits it perfectly.  But I don’t know if that exists.  The song I’m going with is “Dangerous Animals” by Arctic Monkeys.  Because there’s an animal.  And it’s dangerous.  Is that a spoiler?  I don’t think so.  

 

“Emmeline” by Cat Winters

“Ghost” by Halsey.  This one’s fairly self explanatory, if you’ve read the story.  Also, Halsey is one of my favorite electronica artists so I’m not going to pass up an opportunity to recommend one of her songs.  

 

“Verse Chorus Verse” by Leigh Bardugo

“Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle” by Nirvana.  This is the song that the story was inspired by, and it’s just a good song.  

 

“Hide and Seek” by Megan Shepherd

“Hide and Seek” by Imogen Heap.  Because it has the same name.  And if you’re familiar with the “Mmm whatcha say” meme I think that would probably be the most appropriate meme for this story?  

My reasoning for picking one of the songs for this playlist is because of a meme.  I regret nothing.  

 

“The Dark, Scary Parts and All” by Danielle Paige

The song I chose for this short story is “Street Spirit (Fade Out)” by Radiohead.  You shouldn’t have expected anything else from me.  If you read my review of this story, you know exactly why I picked this song, and in my opinion there really isn’t another song that would fit with it.  

 

“The Flicker, The Fingers, The Beat, The Sigh” by April Genevieve Tucholke

“Love Will Tear Us Apart” by Joy Division.  It’s not a perfect fit, but it fits.  Also it’s Joy Division.  

 

“Fat Girl With A Knife” by Jonathan Maberry

The song I’m picking for this story is “Dig Down” by Muse.  I originally had this song in mind for a different story just because I couldn’t think of any other song for that story, but I think it’s a better fit for this one.  

 

“Sleepless” by Jay Kristoff

The song for this story is “Eyes On Fire” by Blue Foundation.  I know that this song is about drugs.  I’m choosing to ignore that for the moment.  If, instead, you think of this song as being about a murderer, it would fit with this story very well.  Also the sound of that bass at 2:10, listen to it specifically.  That couple second part is my favorite part of the entire song.  

 

“M” by Stefan Bachmann

“Animus Vox” by The Glitch Mob.  This one was tricky, but I think this works.

 

“The Girl Without a Face” by Marie Lu

“Monsters” by Matchbook Romance.  This song just makes sense for this story.  

 

“A Girl Who Dreamed of Snow” by McCormick Templeman

“Glowing Eyes” by Twenty One Pilots.  There were glowing eyes right?  There was some kind of monster, and I like this song.  

 

“Stitches” by A. G. Howard

“Monster” by Paramore.  Because why not.  

 

“On the I-5” by Kendare Blake

“Possum Kingdom” by Toadies.  Because there’s death in both of them.  

 

So that’s my playlist for Slasher Boys and Monster Girls.  It’s not the best, but to be fair it was written months after I read the book, and it was written while I was running on not nearly enough sleep.  

