SPOILERS

I normally really like Holly Black’s books, but this one just didn’t do it for me.  

It took me two years to actually get through the whole book so bits of the beginning are kind of fuzzy, but I’m going to do my best to review it.  

In her collection of short stories, The Poison Eaters, Holly Black wrote a short story about Coldtown and in my opinion that was better.  I just feel like this story was much better when it was told in thirty pages instead of over four-hundred.  

The middle of the story seemed to drag on a bit and I think that’s most of the reason why it took me so long to read this.  Maybe if some of the middle was taken out, I would’ve liked the book more, but I don’t know.  I don’t think stories about attractive vampires are really my thing.  Yeah, I don’t like Twilight either but I’m not going to write a review because the review of things I didn’t like would just be too long.  

I couldn’t really relate to Tana much except for having a little sister that I love more than anyone else in the world.  I was hoping she would be more snarky and sarcastic like Cassel from White Cat, but she was pretty similar to every other girl in a young adult book.  It strikes me that the author didn’t try too hard on this one.  

For parts of this book I did really enjoy it, but for most of the book I was more irritated than entertained.  I like Winter and Midnight – especially their hair.  I liked the ending after it picked up from the doldrums of the middle.  

I’ve reread the short story many times and every time I’ve liked it just as much as I did the first time I read it.  I’m not sure if I could reread this book and say the same.  Several times I tried to start it from the beginning but I just couldn’t get into it and picked it up where I stopped before.  

I felt like the end could have been a lot better.  I think that Pearl could have done something more, or her part could have just been written differently somehow.  It left me wanting more.  

My review for this isn’t very good because I don’t remember most of the book.  I’ll probably try to reread it in a few years and maybe I can write a better review then.  

I give this book three stars because even though it took me so long to finish it I never gave up on it, and I did really like a few parts of it.  

Since I’m irritating and can’t write reviews for books I liked I’m going to start recommending good books at the end of all my negative reviews.  

If you were interested in The Coldest Girl in Coldtown try The Poison Eaters by Holly Black.  It has another Coldtown story that, in my opinion, is much better, and a bunch of other excellent stories.  

