I read Neverwhere for the first time three years ago.  At the time I thought it was one of the best books I had ever read.  

When I got the author’s prefered text, I was very excited because the world under London was one of my favorite fictional worlds and I was very excited to return to it.  

My first complaint about it is that the second prologue about Mr. Croup and Mr. Vandemar was at the end.  If this is the author’s prefered text, then why isn’t the second prologue at the beginning?  I wasn’t even that impressed by the second prologue.  It took place four hundred years ago, but there’s no explanation for why Mr. Croup and Mr. Vandemar have lived for so long.  What are they?  Why have they lived for hundreds of years?  Can they die?  

I was also bothered by the relationship between Door and Richard.  There is at least one part in the book where it says Richard thinks about kissing Door.  WAIT A MINUTE.  In the beginning it said that Richard was eighteen when he moved to London and then the rest of the story takes place SEVERAL YEARS LATER.  He’s AT LEAST twenty if not more.  Probably more.  It said that Door is around fifteen.  He’s at least five years older than her.  That’s a perfectly fine age gap in a relationship if both people are in their thirties or forties or older, but with a fifteen year old and a twenty-something year old, it’s creepy.  

Most disappointingly, I didn’t notice anything very different about the author’s prefered text.  Maybe it’s because I had almost completely forgotten the second half of the book, but I thought there would be at least SOMETHING that was totally different.  I felt let down after the hype surrounding the book.

Whatever the reason, this time I’m only giving it four stars.  

