SPOILERY!  BEWARE!  

I say this all the time, but I really wanted to like this book.  It has a sarcastic, snarky main character, a homicidal ghost girl, and a kind of nerdy goth/emo/punk/whatever kid.  This should be exactly what I want in a book.  But it wasn’t.  

I tried to read this book several times before I actually finished it.  Every time I would get about halfway through and just stop.  I can’t remember why I stopped the first time, but I think I couldn’t get through it the other times because I would reread the bit I had already read, and honestly, it bored me.  

There are some books I’ve set down halfway through and I’ve been able to reread the beginning without getting tired of it.  This was not one of those books.  

My memories of the first part might not be the best because I read the first two hundred fifty pages last year and I don’t remember a lot of the details, but I’ll try my best.  

At first, I thought Cas was great.  But the further I got in the book the less I liked him.  I felt like a lot of the swearing he did was less because he felt so strongly about whatever he was talking about that he had to swear about it and more of a thing to shock people and make him seem edgy.  I could be wrong. I don’t know what the author intended with his swearing, this is just the impression I got.  

I felt like a lot of the blood and gore in this book was also for shock value.  I know that Cas had to recognize the wounds on the corpses to know that it was the same ghost that killed his father, but I didn’t need to know exactly how the wounds looked.  Gore can be necessary, but the level of detail was disturbing.  

Perhaps the swearing and gore was an attempt to get guys to read the series too?  Maybe the author thought that guys would find a book about a ghost hunter falling in love with a homicidal ghost boring?  I don’t know.  I didn’t write it.  

Personally, I wanted more stuff about Thomas.  He was my favorite character and there wasn’t much about him.  Since I’m a goth/emo/punk/whatever girl, I found him the most relatable.  I’m not sure if I’m going to read the second book, but if I do I really hope to see more about Thomas.  

The part I liked the least was the ending.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a hopeless romantic who loves a good love story, but the ending didn’t make me feel anything.  Nothing in this book messed with my emotions or made me feel anything other than disturbed by the gore or bored, so I wanted the ending to be something that would leave me with tears in my eyes OR AT LEAST an ending that had a sudden twist.  To be fair, I did read spoilers for this book before I read it so I knew what the ending was going to be but I expected so much more.  

So in the end of the book Anna opens a portal to hell to get rid of Voodoo Ghost Man, but to send him to hell she also has to go to hell.  Before that Cas and Anna had already kissed and made it pretty obvious that they were in love.  

Of course it was sad for Cas that the girl he loved was sucked into hell, but it had the opportunity to be so much worse.  

Don’t give me this ending.  This isn’t nearly sad enough.  Give me unrequited love.  Give me Cas loving Anna with all of his heart but not telling her because she’s dead and he knows it would make her sad to watch him grow old while she never aged.  Give me Anna loving Cas more than she had ever loved anyone before but not telling him because she thought he would be happier with a living girl who wasn’t homicidal.  Give me the awkward silences when they talk where they wonder if they should tell the other how they feel.  And then, at the end, give me Anna looking to Cas just moments before she’s sucked into hell and telling him that she loves him.  Give me Cas, about to say that he loves Anna too, but there’s no time and she’s sucked into hell without knowing that he loved her too.  Give me Cas, completely heartbroken knowing that there’s no way to ever tell his one and only love how he felt.  

No book two.  No happy ending.  ANGST!  
I really thought I would give this book a higher rating.  Until the last seventy-five pages it was a solid three stars at least.  But since the ending really fell flat, I have to give it one star.  Part of me still feels like I’m being too harsh on it, but then I remember that I don’t even want to read the second book (and I read the entire Asylum series even though every book was a huge disappointment) so I guess this rating is appropriate.  

